The One I Lost

As the black procession walks around the gate
Upon my mind there is a stain
The wilted petals of a long-forgotten day
Never to find the one I lost again

The pen must have slipped to the side
An accident, a mistake, who is to blame?
It cannot be real, this nightmarish reality
The one I lost, I can never reclaim

They say anguish makes for good art
That from beauty, the pain is torn
Even as I worked day and night, looking to find meaning
The memory of the one I lost I caused me to mourn

And now, many a-year has passed
Every now and then, a thought will cross my mind
I will remember that long-forgotten time
But memories of the one I lost, I cannot find

Leave a Reply

